Need help with reaching peer from outside. Bug?

Discussion in English language.
Forumsregeln
You can start and continue with posts in english language in all other forums as well, but if you are looking for a forum to start a discussion in english, this is the right choice.

Need help with reaching peer from outside. Bug?

Beitragvon paul89 » Mo Mär 13, 2017 11:57 pm

Hello everyone,

I have a spare linux (ubuntu) server that's been online for few years and I thought it would make an excellent crawler/Yacy node. I installed and configured the machine - everything according to the YouTube video. Nearly everything works perfectly.

One major problem: "Your peer cannot be reached from outside (which is not fatal, but would be good for the YaCy network); please open your firewall for this port and/or set a virtual server option in your router to allow connections on this port. Opening a router port is not a YaCy-specific task; you can see instruction videos everywhere in the internet, just search for Open Ports on a <our-router-type> Router and add your router type as search term. However: if you fail to open a router port, you can nevertheless use YaCy with full functionality, the only function that is missing is on the side of the other YaCy users because they cannot see your peer."

The problem: I do not have any type of firewall on the system (I'm 100% certain), and the machine is on DMZ with 8090 open, guaranteed. There is no firewall on the router, and nothing is blocking the port. CanYouSeeMe.org verifies that the port is open, and just about any port scanner says the same. Yet I'm unable to contribute my crawl to the network.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
paul89
 
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: Mo Mär 13, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Need help with reaching peer from outside. Bug?

Beitragvon luc » Di Mär 14, 2017 6:46 pm

Hi paul89,
do you get something when you try the URL
Code: Alles auswählen
http://[host]:[port]/yacy/hello.html
for example in a browser, and replacing host and port exactly with what is displayed in your /Status.html page at "Public Address:"?
luc
 
Beiträge: 231
Registriert: Mi Aug 26, 2015 1:04 am

Re: Need help with reaching peer from outside. Bug?

Beitragvon paul89 » Do Mär 16, 2017 9:48 pm

Yes, I reach a page with my IP, version, uptime and other info.
I even checked iptables - it's not running, the port is open.
paul89
 
Beiträge: 2
Registriert: Mo Mär 13, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Need help with reaching peer from outside. Bug?

Beitragvon irnerio » Sa Mär 18, 2017 9:49 am

The same problem here.

version=1.92 uptime=6300 yourip=myipnumber yourtype=virgin mytime=20170318083932 message=no post or no enviroment

I'd like to share my index with other peers without receiving (it's a specific topic search engine).

Kind regards.

Mario
irnerio
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: Fr Mär 17, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Need help with reaching peer from outside. Bug?

Beitragvon luc » Fr Mär 24, 2017 9:15 am

Hi do you still encounter this problem?
If so I suggest you to have a look at your logs (yacy*.log files in DATA/LOG) and to search for lines containing "seed-list URL" : there should at least be some lines like "...YACY BOOTSTRAP: N seeds from seed-list URL http://somePeer...
Looking for log lines containing "yacyClient.hello" or "hello/client" could also be instructive.
luc
 
Beiträge: 231
Registriert: Mi Aug 26, 2015 1:04 am


Zurück zu English

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast

cron