Disk space problem

Discussion in English language.
Forumsregeln
You can start and continue with posts in english language in all other forums as well, but if you are looking for a forum to start a discussion in english, this is the right choice.

Disk space problem

Beitragvon eros » Mo Jul 24, 2017 12:53 pm

Hi there,

I've been running Yacy for a couple of months now and the index got pretty big (about 20 million documents). I don't want to delete the documents, but the index size is getting out of hands in terms of disk space: the "SEGMENTS" directory takes up more than 400 GB.

In my early tests with yacy, I seem to recall that when I exported the index and then re-imported it in another yacy installation (on a different machine), the index size was considerably smaller in terms of disk space, is that possible?

I was toying with the idea of:

- exporting the index to an XML file
- emptying the "SEGMENTS" directory
- re-importing the index

So here's my questions:

a) do you think I'll get the result I expect (i.e. reduce the amount of disk space taken up by the index)
b) is there a better way of doing this?

Thanks,
Eros
eros

Re: Disk space problem

Beitragvon sixcooler » Mo Jul 24, 2017 8:03 pm

Hello,

following your idea, will result in lower disk-usage, but you will also loose a lot of additional Information.

YaCy uses multiple indexes - think of which is needed.
At Index Administration -> Index Source & Targets (/IndexFederated_p.html) you can switch them on and of.

The Solr Search Index ist the core and YaCy won't be useful without that - so this can't be switched off.

There are 2 kinds of Web Structure Index. This index is about the references between pages and sites. Without them YaCy will only loose some of its Index quality. I also don't use them in the Freeworld.
If you uncheck the citation Index, you can remove the SEGMENTS/default/citation.index* files once you shut down YaCy.